Mission Statement

Catawba Regional Council of Governments (COG) is an association of South Carolina local governments in Chester, Lancaster, Union, and York counties. The COG serves as a forum for intergovernmental cooperation and as a central staffing resource for grantsmanship, land use and transportation planning, community and economic development, workforce investment, GIS mapping, information systems, and project management.

Featured Projects


Catawba Regional Council of Government Receives National Association of Development Organizations 2020 Impact Award

WASHINGTON, DC – Catawba Regional Council of Governments based in Rock Hill,… Read More →


CDBG Projects Awarded – September 2020

Following is a list of the Community Development Block Grants awarded in… Read More →

See all projects

Our Region At A Glance

Union County, South Carolina

Union County was named for the old Union Church, erected in 1765 near the present day town of Union. The early settlers in the area were mainly Scotch-Irish from Virginia and Pennsylvania who began immigrating to the South Carolina upcountry in the 1750s.  A rich and fabled history provides the foundation for much of the […]

Read More →